Home  Search For:   in   


 Member Councils
 Contact Info
    - RSTC



News Headlines WRSTC News and Information
Mar 20, 2007 (13:30:00 GMT)

ISO approves 6 Diving Standards

ISO approves 6 Diving Standards
The International Standards Organization (ISO) is the largest developer of technical standards which positively impact our global society. In January 2007, six (6) recreational diving standards were approved. With the involvement of diver training organizations from many countries, ISO was able to act as a bridging organization to bring them all together to approve one standard that will be implemented world wide.

The ISO is a network of national standards institutes from 157 countries with a central Secretariat in Geneva, Switzerland that coordinates the system. For the United States, the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) is the ISO representative. As the ANSI Accredited Standards Developer for recreational diving standards and safety, the Recreational Scuba Training Council (RSTC) actively participated in the ISO standards approval process.

Although some of the terminology is different, the long-standing industry standards developed by the RSTC are consistent with the applicable ISO Standards, as identified in the following chart.

RSTC StandardISO StandardAlternative ISO Title
Introductory Scuba ExperienceNo equivalent
No equivalentLevel One DiverSupervised Diver
Open Water DiverLevel Two DiverAutonomous Diver
Dive SupervisorLevel Three DiverDive Leader
Assistant InstructorLevel 1 Instructor
Scuba InstructorLevel 2 Instructor
Instructor TrainerNo equivalent
No equivalentService Provider


     Oct 06, 2015 18:31:15 GMT
Login - Code Last Updated: Jan 01, 2013 20:01:14 GMT  
2001-2015 KingTechSolutions & WRSTC, All rights reserved.
Current Browser:
This site is optimized for Internet Explorer 5.5 or later.